The Association Agreement between Ukraine and EU entered into force

The Association Agreement between Ukraine, of the one part, and the European Union (the “EU“), the European Atomic Energy Community and their member states, of the other part (the “Agreement“), entered into force on 1 September 2017.

Notably, the conclusion of the Agreement was preceded by a long-term negotiation process, which had been lasting from 2007. The Agreement was made in two stages: on 21 March 2014 the political part of the Agreement was signed, and the economic part of the Agreement was signed on 27 June 2014.

On 16 September 2014 the Agreement was simultaneously ratified by the Parliament of Ukraine and the European Parliament, after which the procedure for its ratification by EU member states began. Since 1 January 2016 the comprehensive free trade zone between Ukraine and the EU operates and from 11 June 2017 – visa-free travel to the EU countries for Ukrainian citizens holding valid biometric passports. 


If you need more information, please do not hesitate to contact us at: